A weekend away

On Friday morning my boyfriend and I headed to London Paddington and boarded a train heading west. We had decided to escape the city for a long weekend in the Cotswolds, a part of the country we’d not been to before. It was wonderfully relaxing, our hotel offered a retreat in the middle of beautiful countryside. We even tried our hand at archery on Saturday morning! This was also the perfect opportunity to practise some more photography.

We were very lucky with the weather, and stunning sunsets allowed me the opportunity to experiment.

I particularly like the photograph above. However it is a shame that I didn’t manage to capture the top of the tree which is washed out by the sun. Any tips on how this could be avoided would be appreciated!

On Saturday we walked from our hotel to Broadway tower, the second-highest point in the Cotswolds. The approach to the tower offered some more opportunities.

Experimenting with colour and black and white. I think that I prefer the black and white in this case, it seems to make the tower more imposing.

From the top of the tower we were treated to some stunning views, which I did my best to capture. The winter sun was so bright it was difficult to get the light and exposure correct, I think the shot below is my most successful although still slightly washed out on the left hand side.

deerlow restowerlow res

I particularly like the line of frost in the shadow of the tower in the photograph above!

 

sheep 1low res

We also made some friends along the way …

After viewing the tower and the views it offered we started the descent into Broadway, a small village often referred to as the jewel of the Cotswolds. I think that I’ve captured a small part of its beauty and charm below.

street low res

A few more shots from the weekend:

morning frostlow resA frosty morning, and our view from the room!

 

sheep 2low res

Sheep being sorted!

big skieslow res

horseslow res

I’m not very confident at landscape photography, and it is difficult to capture such stunning vistas and to know which settings will best capture them. But it was fun trying!

Any comments on how I could improve are very welcome.

Author: lilymphotography

I'm new to the photography world, and would appreciate any constructive criticism on any of my work.

2 thoughts on “A weekend away”

Leave a Reply

