Daffodils: inspired by Leendert Blok

349536
Silent Beauties. Photography – Leendert Blok, Courtesy of Hatje Cantz 

I recently came across this blog post  Silent Beauty: A Photographic Compendium of FlowersIt introduced me to the work of Leendert Blok, a Holland-born photographer who took extensive photographs of various flowers. But rather than have them in garden settings, he photographed the plants in front of plain, simple backgrounds.

The photograph here is absolutely stunning. I love the sense of movement and life that this photograph evokes. Many of his photographs look like paintings, a quality which I really admire. I would love to be able to do botanical painting, but following a morning in a class I’ve realised that the level of delicacy and patience required is just not in my nature (if you’d seen my A-Level art portfolio you would know why – think Jackson Pollock meets Anselm Kiefer). So perhaps this style of photography is a way for me to capture flowers in a more DSCF1871artistic way using my camera.

Feeling suitably inspired I decided to have a go. I had a couple of bunches of daffodils which had passed their best so I decided to use these as my subject matter. I did some watercolour washes to use as my backgrounds to try and create a similar effect to Blok’s work.

 

DSCF1855

DSCF1833_edited-1

DSCF1795

DSCF1791

DSCF1828DSCF1821

DSCF1843

DSCF1868

DSCF1803

DSCF1783

DSCF1797

DSCF1829

DSCF1801

I’m quite pleased with the effects of the watercolour wash as a background, and taking macro photos of the daffodils to create abstract shots. I really enjoyed being slightly more artistic and would love any feedback!

 

 

Author: lilymphotography

I'm new to the photography world, and would appreciate any constructive criticism on any of my work.

4 thoughts on “Daffodils: inspired by Leendert Blok”

Leave a Reply

