Chelsea Flower Show

Despite working in a Garden in Chelsea for 2 1/2 years I’d never been to Chelsea Flower Show, so this year I decided to go with my parents. There was also the added incentive of the Head Gardener at the Garden I work in having a Show Garden at the show. It’s perhaps not the ideal place for photography, lots of crowds and never long to set up a shot as you have so much to see! However I took my camera with me to see what I could capture.

I was actually pleasantly surprised by the show overall, I had heard comments that it is incredibly busy and too crowded and commercial to enjoy but in fact it was great. I didn’t feel that I was being sold to and found so much to see that the 3.30-8pm ticket time soon flew past.

The biggest challenge was that the sun was so bright a lot of my images are overexposed, not that I should complain as it was a beautiful evening! Here are a selection on the images that I am quite pleased with from the show.

 

DSCF3401
Capturing the sunset on the planting in the Royal Bank of Canada Garden

 

DSCF3371
The Imperial Garden: Revive

 

DSCF3372DSCF3362

A tunnel of orchids was a particular highlight of the show for me, I took this as I was entering the tunnel. I could have spent a while in there taking photos but unfortunately this was a particularly crowded spot!

 

DSCF3333
A bed of lavender
DSCF3408
Sunset accentuating the copper in the Winton Beauty of Mathematics Garden

DSCF3321

DSCF3315

DSCF3298

DSCF3296

DSCF3289

 

DSCF3412
The Husqvarna Garden

 

close up
Detail in the Harrods British Eccentrics Garden

 

I had such a great afternoon at the show, and want to say a huge congratulations to Nick for his stunning Show Garden, The Winton Beauty of Mathematics Garden which was awarded Silver-Gilt.

DSCF1903
Nick and me in his Show Garden

 

 

 

Author: lilymphotography

I'm new to the photography world, and would appreciate any constructive criticism on any of my work.

3 thoughts on “Chelsea Flower Show”

Leave a Reply

