Testing my knowledge with film

Pentax ME Super

On an overcast Sunday I headed back to my parents house and my Dad suggested a walk in the woods with a film camera. It was a test to see how much I understood the camera settings and the impact of these on an image. He gave me his Pentax ME Super and we set off!

I found it hard to use the viewfinder rather than the screen as I am used to, and I occasionally accidentally took a photo before I was ready. A few times I had the settings and composition just as I wanted, before realising I hadn’t wound the film on between shots – the perils of growing up in the digital age! Although we did reminisce that I did have a film camera as a child, I seem to remember that it had a cartoon tiger on the front.

These are some of the images which I am most pleased with:

35mm004_edited-1

35mm013
Although the focus obviously is not what I had intended I quite like the effect of this photograph.

35mm030

35mm028

35mm027

35mm025

35mm024

35mm007
The focus isn’t quite right here, but again I like the effect of focusing on what you wouldn’t necessarily expect.

35mm005

35mm002
35mm004

This is the image I am most pleased with:

35mm023

Overall I really love the effect of these photographs, and can really tell the difference between film and digital. The film was slightly out of date which may have affected some of the colours on the final images but on the whole I’m quite pleased with my first attempt!

But of course there were also a few photographs that didn’t come out too well, because I had not got the settings quite right. As my Dad says, a film camera is a lot less forgiving for your errors as a photographer than a digital!

 

 

Author: lilymphotography

I'm new to the photography world, and would appreciate any constructive criticism on any of my work.

Leave a Reply

