Grow Wild – End of a Season

At the start of the summer I registered for a free seed kit from Grow Wild, a wild flower campaign aimed to transform spaces in the UK with British native wild flowers. I planted the seeds on my balcony and enjoyed wild flowers throughout the summer. However now that we reach September, the flowers have passed their best and I spent this morning sorting out my pots, removing dead plants and planting some bulbs ready for the spring.

The advantage of this was that I had an array of dried wild flowers to photograph! I decided to experiment with the backgrounds, rather than using my usual watercolour washes. I used some pages from a colouring book (I’m someone who loved colouring before ‘adult colouring’ became a thing), the book is called Secret Garden by Johanna Basford. I also used a sheet of illustration which I was given at the V&A late last Friday, their late was called Grow You Own.

Here are the results!

DSCF6341

DSCF6323

DSCF6316

DSCF6304

DSCF6302

DSCF6298

 

DSCF6293
The three images above all use coloured in pages from the colouring book as the background.

 

DSCF6280

DSCF6269

DSCF6258

DSCF6256

DSCF6250

As always comments are very welcome and constructive criticsm appreciated.

I’m currently waiting on a film to be developed from the Pentax, I spent an afternoon in Brompton Cemetary so am really intriguied to see what shots I managed to capture. Watch this space …

Author: lilymphotography

I'm new to the photography world, and would appreciate any constructive criticism on any of my work.

Leave a Reply

