Snowdrops – winter beauties

It’s been a while since my last post, my excuse is a combination of starting a new job in December and the usual winter bugs so I haven’t been out and about with my camera as much.

A few weeks back I went to the Chelsea Physic Garden Snowdrop Days, it was my first time going back to the Garden as a visitor rather than as an employee as I had been up until recently. I took the opportunity to take some photographs of the beautiful snowdrops on display, one of my favourite plants at this time of year. Although the daffodils are starting to pop up on my balcony so look out for some shots of them soon!

2
One of the few plants that I can always remember the botanical name for – Galanthus elwesii ‘Grumpy’

1

 

3

4

I used the magnetic lasso tool to select the snowdrop and then inverse this selection so that I could make the background black and white – I really like the effect this has achieved!

As usual comments and tips are welcome, and I promise to not leave it so long next time!

Author: lilymphotography

I'm new to the photography world, and would appreciate any constructive criticism on any of my work.

Leave a Reply

