Insects at the Wetland Centre

Today I took myself to London Wetland Centre which has recently re-opened. I booked my timed ticket earlier this week and eagerly set off this morning with my camera. Unfortunately I was a day too early to use the hides but I still had a lovely time. It’s about a 40 minute walk from my flat but felt like I was in the middle of nowhere at times. It must have been wonderful when there were no planes heading down to Heathrow, although there are still less than pre-Covid. They have introduced a one-way system, which everyone followed, and at no point did it feel too busy. It also marked the first time I’ve used a bathroom that wasn’t my own in 4 months – what a milestone!

I saw lots of wonderful birds, as you’d expect, and I will share photos of these in another post. But first I wanted to share some of the insect (and a lizard) photos that I took. I think visiting on my own made me spend more time looking at the wildlife around me, and focusing in on little details one might ordinarily walk straight past. I spent a lot of time around one area, waiting for the butterflies to get into position (which they never quite did). So it’s probably a good thing I was on my own.

Special thank you to my friend Hannah (and her Dad) for their help on butterfly identification!

Lizard basking in the sunshine
Off to find more pollen
A Ringlet butterfly
A HUGE dragonfly, landed just long enough for me to take this photo
A group of damselflies
Look at all that pollen on it’s back, a very busy bee
In flight
This may be a Large White (based on my googling…)
And I think these are Peacock butterflies
Small skipper butterfly
Really wanted these two to come closer but they never did, maybe it was because there was a human with a camera …
Spider attempting to wrap up a bug – fascinating to watch
A damselfly wanted to see what was going on too

Thanks for reading, I took 620 photos today so might squeeze a couple more blogs out over the next few days. Thanks to the London Wetland Centre for opening again, it felt very safe and all the staff I interacted with were so lovely.

Author: lilymphotography

I'm new to the photography world, and would appreciate any constructive criticism on any of my work.

One thought on “Insects at the Wetland Centre”

Leave a comment